Sunday, November 16, 2008

Funcrusher Plus

Funcrusher Plus is the debut album from the Brooklyn, New York Hip Hop group Company Flow. This album is basically what made me fall in love with Hip Hop, the album was produced mostly by El-P and it's considered one of the most influential albums to the underground rap scene. If you haven't heard this i really don't know what you're whaiting for.....Download

Wednesday, November 12, 2008

Summer Make Good

Summer Make Good is the third full length album from the Icelandic band Múm. This album so far is my favorite from them, it kinda takes you to another place like a dark Attic on a remote house out on the mountains witch is right where i like to be placed when i paint. The album has a mix of vast soundscapes with subtle electronic manipulations, distinctive vocals and electronic glitch beats and effects witch make it a 5 out of 5 stars for me.


Friday, November 7, 2008

Horn of Plenty

Horn of Plenty is the debut album from the folk rock band Grizzly Bear. This album was re-released in 2005 with an additional disk of remixes from Solex, The Double, Castanets, Final Fantasy, Soft Pink Truth, Dntel and others. The album started as a solo efort of Ed Dorste, also in the band Daniel Rossen (songwriting/guitar), Chris Taylor (bass/woodwinds/electronics/vocals), Christopher Bear (drums/vocals).


The Good, the Bad & the Queen a British rock supergroup

The band consists of:
Damon Albarn - Gorillaz
Paul Simonon
- The Clash
Simon Tong - The Verve
Tony Allen - Africa 70

Enough said.


Thursday, November 6, 2008


Seabear is an Icelandic indie-folk band, the band started as a one man project of Sindri Sigfússon. Seabear now has six other members, The Ghost that Carried Us Away is the debut album by the seven-member group. Im pretty sure im going to be listening to this album for a very long time, i guess the best way i can describe their sound is by describing a cool breeze in a hot sumer day while laying on the grass but dont listen to me here's a video from the band.

Download: Singing Ark EP

Download: The Ghost that Carried Us Away

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

Dr. Dog

Dr. Dog is a musical band from the greater West Philadelphia area.They are interested in three-part harmoies, the out-of-doors, hoagies,vegetables and diminished chords.

Dr. Dog is:

TAXI: lead woof+mud distortion guitar, vocals [Scott McMicken]

TABLES: finger bass, vocals [Toby Leaman]

TEXT: keyboardings, some guitar and singing [Zach Miller]

TIME: trapset, harmonies, vehicle maintenance [Juston Stens]

THANKS: full grip chords, young voice, interning [Frank McElroy];

TRIAL: thin bright guitar, wheeling/dealing [Andrew Jones] (2004-2005)

TRUCK: chordal guitar, banter and vocals [Doug O'Donnell] (1999 - 2004)

TODAY: drums, paintcan, twigs, and concepts [Ted Mark] (1999 - 2003)

“This band was started and built on the idea that we were the only band there was,” “That gave us the freedom to be in complete control. You can start a band and say, ‘In Dr. Dog World, up is down and blue is red.’ Because who’s gonna tell you you’re wrong?” :McMicken

They've created five albums:ALBUMS, such as:

Psychedelic Swamp ('--)

Toothbrush ('99 -'02)

Easy Beat LP('04)

Takers and Leavers('06)

We All Belong('07)


download: Easy Beat, We All Belong and Fate

Youtube vids:

1. Dr. Dog "My Old Ways"
2. Dr. Dog "The Ark"
Dr. Dog "Fools Life"

Put on your headphones and ride a bike

Efterklang is a Danish post-pop group formed in 2001. This album with very fast paste electronic splats, pats and base accompanied by horns, violins, electric guitar, drums, piano and epic choirs makes it sound like a strobe light with an orchestra inside.
  1. "Foetus" – 3:10
  2. "Swarming" – 6:32
  3. "Step Aside" – 4:38
  4. "Prey and Predator" – 6:26
  5. "Collecting Shields" – 5:57
  6. "Doppelgänger" – 6:40
  7. "Tortuous Tracks" – 3:39
  8. "Monopolist" – 6:57
  9. "Chapter 6" – 6:37

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

The album that takes me back to Saginaw

Summer last year i moved to Saginaw, Michigan with my cousin Hector. After lots of bonfires with friends, fishing trips, cottage houses by the lake and seeing snow for the first time i came back to my hometown in San Juan, Puerto Rico late August this year and now i cant seem to get enough of this album by Sufjan Stevens, himself a Michigander. This album a tribute to Michigan, takes you through isolated rural country sides with frozen river banks and snow covered parks with it's slow minimalist sound from instruments like: banjo, acoustic guitar, piano, xylophones, vibraphones, glockenspiels, wood floutes, sleigh bells, tambourines accompanied by Stevens fragile voice.

  1. "Flint (For the Unemployed and Underpaid)" – 3:44
  2. "All Good Naysayers, Speak Up! Or Forever Hold Your Peace!" – 4:33
  3. "For the Widows in Paradise, For the Fatherless in Ypsilanti" – 3:57
  4. "Say Yes! to M!ch!gan!" – 2:46
    • (The track title refers to a Michigan tourism slogan from the 1980s)
  5. "The Upper Peninsula" – 3:23
  6. "Tahquamenon Falls" – 2:18
  7. "Holland" – 3:26
  8. "Detroit, Lift Up Your Weary Head! (Rebuild! Restore! Reconsider!)" – 8:20
  9. "Romulus" – 4:41
  10. "Alanson, Crooked River" – 1:18
  11. "Sleeping Bear, Sault Saint Marie" – 2:52
  12. "They Also Mourn Who Do Not Wear Black (For the Homeless in Muskegon)" – 6:21
  13. "Oh God, Where Are You Now? (In Pickerel Lake? Pigeon? Marquette? Mackinaw?)" – 9:23
  14. "Redford (For Yia-Yia & Pappou)" – 2:02
  15. "Vito's Ordination Song" – 7:07