Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Monday, March 23, 2009

Iron & Wine - The Creek Drank The Cradle

Iron & Wine is Samuel Beam a singer-songwriter from South Carolina, this is his debut album.

Lion's Main


Andrew Bird - Armchair Apocrypha

Andrew Bird is a singer-songwriter/multi-instrumentalist from Chicago, he plays the violin, guitar, mandolin, glockenspiel and has great whistle. Armchair Apocrypha is his fourth solo album released march 2007.

"Spare-Ohs" in Paris


Sunday, March 22, 2009

Röyksopp - Melody A.M.

This is the debut album from the Norweigian electronic duo geniuses Röyksopp (Torbjørn Brundtland and Svein Berge). This album definitely changed the way i hear music, Erlend did vocals on "Poor Leno" and "Remind Me" two great singles. If you haven't heard this, you should.

Arthur & Yu - In Camera

Sub Pop Records..... Drawing sonic inspiration from the Velvet Underground as well as the studio experimentation of Lee Hazlewood, each track is a study in expansion, centered loosely around chiming guitars and swirling melodies. Olsen’s hazy croon is lifted by the smooth harmonies of Westcott, and both reel in the influence of Nancy Sinatra between the familiar crash of a tambourine and layers of guitar.


Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Ethiopiques Vol 1,2,3,4 and 5

(1998) The Golden Years of Modern Ethiopian Music

(1998) Tètchawèt! Urban Azmaris Of The 90s

(1998) Golden Years Of Modern Ethiopian Music

(1998) Ethio Jazz & Musique Instrumentale, 1969-1974

(1999) Tigrigna Music

Ethiopiques is a series of compact discs featuring Ethiopian and Eritrean singers and musicians. Many of the Ethiopiques CDs compile various singles and albums released during the 1960s and 1970s in Ethiopia. Some of the CD's focus on traditional music, while others highlight individual musicians or specific styles.

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Dj Kicks - Erlend Øye

DJ Kicks started out in 1995 as a compilation of electronic DJ club style mixes in the techno or house genres, with the then-novel twist of being targeted to a home listening audience. It's a sequence of musical tracks typically mixed together to appear as one continuous track. This album has a lot of good mixes, even one with Erlend covering The Smiths song "There's a light that never goes out" and more.

Poor Leno

The Notwist - Neon Golden

Also from Germany, The Notwist.

Get it!

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Donna Regina - Northern Classic

From Germany a downtempo electronica group, Donna Regina. The group consists of Regina Janssen (vocals), Gunter Janssen (guitar) and Steffen Irlinger (electronic sounds). Donna Regina’s debut album "Lazing Away" was released in 1992, Northern Classic is their fifth release.

Let's Get Slow

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

Erlend Øye - Unrest

Unrest is the debut solo album from Erlend Øye, released in 2003. Each track on the album was recorded in a different city by a different producer.

Erlend Øye has a great voice and is one of my favorite song writers.

Like Gold


Jimmy Tamborello(Dntel) is also part of Figurine, an electro-pop band consisting of Tamborello as James Figurine, Meredith Figurine and David Figurine. The three were high school friends and created music based mostly on the theme of long distance love. This is The Heartfelt their second and best album, i would have to say.

James Figurine also realeased a solo album entitled Mistake Mistake Mistake Mistake. This album is more of a downtempo electronica album, it has 10 songs with additional help from John Tejada, Jenny Lewis, Geoff McFetridge, Morgan Nagler, Erlend Øye and Sonya Westcott.

These are both great albums, Jimmy is really good.

The Heartfelt
Mistake Mistake Mistake Mistake